OMA Section Matters

  • Section Chair
  • Section Executive
  • Section News

Dr. Chris Vinden, MD, FRCSC (May, 2016 - Present)
OMA Section Chair on General Surgeons & Immediate OAGS Past President
General Surgeon, London Health Sciences Centre, Victoria Hospital

I am a General Surgeon practicing in London, Ontario. Although I work in an academic centre, I spent 7 years in community practice in Sarnia and feel I am familiar with the issues faced by both community and academic surgeons. I have been involved in provincial political issues for many years. I am the currently the section chair for general surgery at the OMA and the past president of the Ontario Association of General Surgeons. I feel that the OMA’s number one priority is to deal with the massive inequities in income that exist between various specialties. They can no longer do minor tweaks this expecting underpaid specialties to eventually rise to parity with higher paid groups. That is a ridiculous scenario that fiscally impossible. The only tenable solution is drastic cuts to overpaid specialties. I will advocate vigourously for the OMA to set a rigid timetable for relativity issues to be resolved , but I am skeptical that the OMA has the political will to be able to accomplish this. Hopefully recent events will spur the OMA to make some hard decisions. I don’t think it would be unreasonable for the ministry to act unilaterally in regards to gravy train specialties if the OMA will not commit.

Dr. Chris Vinden is a General Surgeon at Victoria Hospital, Division of General Surgery, London Health Sciences Centre and Associate Professor of the Dept. of Surgery, Western University. He has also held the roles of Chief of Surgery Associate Chief of Staff. Dr. Vinden's main area of interest is colon screening.

OMA Section Executive on General Surgery was acclaimed on January 20, 2017, but the terms will not commence until elections are completed (Mar.7, 2017). All terms are 1 year in duration.
  1. Chair:Dr. Chris Vinden, London - District #2
  2. Vice Chair:Dr. Alice Wei, Toronto - District #11
  3. Secretary:Dr. Harshad Telang, Thunder Bay - District #10
  4. Tariff Chair: Dr. Keven Lefebvre, Stratford - District
  5. Member-at-Large: Dr. Tim Jackson, Toronto
  6. Member-at-Large: Dr. Jennifer Macmillan, Huntsville
  7. Past Chair: Dr. Jeff Kolbasnik

OMA Council Delegates and Alternates - elected Mar.7, 2017 (1 yr term)
  1. Delegate: Dr. Chris Vinden, London
  2. Delegate: Dr. Alice Wei, Toronto
  3. Alternate: Dr. Kevin Lefebvre
  4. Alternate: Dr. Jennifer Macmillan
  5. Alternate: Dr. Tim Jackson, Toronto
  6. Alternate: Dr. Harshad Telang, Thunder Bay


Mar.7 - OMA elections are completed. Congratulations to our new and incumbent executive members and council delegates/alternates of the Section on General Surgery! - Details (gated)

Mar.4-5 - The OMA Physician Action Working Group (PAWG) held a meeting for all section and district reps to present their job action perspectives. OAGS President and Section Vice Chair Dr. Alice Wei participated on behalf of General Surgery. PAWG will review all feedback when considering potential job action if contract negotiations with the MOHLTC do not resume.

Contract Negotiations Update
Mar - OMA wants your opinion on Job Action: Take survey now!
Mar.7 - OMA appreciates promising intentions from the gov't but worries MOHLTC won't follow through. As such, they continue to explore potential job action just in case. OMA met with section and district reps on Mar.3-4 for feedback. - OMA Press Release (gated); CBC Interview
Feb.27 - In the absence of an elected OMA executive, the board has appointed Dr. Rachel Forman to serve as primary spokesperson.
Feb.21 - Premier Wynne and Health Minister Eric Hoskins respond by announcing its new negotiating team to act on behalf of the gov't in renewed negotiations with the OMA. First order of business when discussions resume will be to negotiate a binding interest arbitration process. MOHLTC Press Release
Feb.16 - OMA announces its newly appointed Negotiations Committee. - OMA Update (gated)

Feb.15-Mar.7 - Section Election ...PLEASE REMEMBER TO VOTE BEFORE MARCH 7. - Details (gated)

Feb.7 - After careful consideration of the recent Special Council voting results, the OMA President and Executive have since decided to resign their positions (Feb.6). In doing so, the hope is to reunify doctors and refocus a strong front against the gov't. However, those who are resigning from the Executive and still in the middle of their 2yr term will remain on the OMA Board of Directors. Any Board vacancies will be voted on by Council. From this slate of Board Directors, a new Executive will be nominated and elected during the usual Spring OMA Council Meeting on the weekend of May 6-7, 2017. Please refer to the OMA Bylaws for more details. Until then, the OMA Board at large will be in a position of power and decision making. OMA Press Release; OMA Membership Update (gated).

Jan.29 - Approximately 55% of OMA Council members voted non-confidence in the OMA Executive during the recent OMA Special Council Meeting. However, since OMA bylaws require a 2/3 majority to oust the executive, the resolutions failed. Subsequently, neither the President nor any of the current OMA executive have chosen to resign. OMA leadership remains status quo. OMA Press Release / Media Article - TorStar / Media Article - MedPost

Jan. 28 - As you may know, a small group of physicians have requested a Special OMA Meeting of Council this weekend (Jan.29) to consider motions of non-confidence in the OMA Board and possibly removing the six members of the OMA Executive Committee. General Surgery has released a new position statement regarding how its delegates plan to vote on these resolutions. - Download

Jan.28 - Section Election: The OMA Section on General Surgery executive slate has been acclaimed, but the nominations for Council Delegates are up for election. Section and District voting begins Feb.15-Mar.7. Please remember to vote. - Details (gated)

November 2016

Congratulations to Dr. Jeff Kolbasnik who received the 2016 OMA Section Service Award during the 22nd OAGS Annual Meeting on November 5, 2016.

May 2016

During the OMA Council banquet earlier this spring, two General Surgeons were recognized with the OMA Life Member Award for their years of service to the OMA Section on General Surgery, OAGS and numerous committees. Congratulations to Dr. Suru Chande of Ottawa, Ontario and the late Dr. Alan Ryley of Burling, Ontario - the latter of whom received it posthumously by his wife Ms. A. Esson.


OMA Section Election: Details (December 15, 2015 - tentative)

OMA Section Webpage: General Surgery

OMA/MOHLTC Negotiations 2014-15: Unilateral Action Update

November 2015

Congratulations to Dr. Robin McLeod who received the 2015 OMA Section Service Award during the 21st OAGS Annual Meeting on November 6, 2015.







May 2015

Congratulations to Dr. Angus Maciver of Stratford, Ontario. During the OMA Council banquet earlier this month, he received the OMA Life Member Award for his years of service to the OMA Section on General Surgery, OAGS and numerous committees.